Some people think that there are things individuals can do to prevent global climate change. Others believe that action by individuals is useless and irrelevant and that it is only governments and large businesses which can make a difference.

While some people believe that individuals have some roles to play in the prevention of climate change globally, others however are of the opinion that the only preventive measure lies with the government and large businesses. In my opinion, individuals, governments and large businesses all have their parts to play in the prevention of global climate change. Climate change is a serious global challenge that requires urgent and sustained attention by individuals at various levels. To begin with, it is the wrong practices of individuals that contributed to this climate change in the first place. Those practices include, bush burning, deforestation, burning of fossil fuels, and the excessive use of automobiles and generators. Now, inasmuch as these practices are still ongoing, climate change will continue to progress, which will cause depletion of our ozone layer and then consequently, global warming. Hence, individual effort in putting a stop to these harmful practices will help in preventing this climatic change globally. Furthermore, government and large businesses such as industries have a crucial role to play in preventing this worldwide climate change. Being an urgent situation, the government should create a law against killing of some species of plants and animals. Also, there should be a penalty for lawbreakers as this will instill caution into people. In addition, industries should limit their use of hydrocarbons as these can cause the release of harmful gases and resulting in greenhouse effect, causing global warming. These industries make use of hydrocarbons in generating power but can alternatively use solar panel system or non hydraulic engine system. In summary, to achieve a tighter control or prevention of global climate change, the government should create a law that is binding on both individuals and industries against the use of hydrocarbons, engaging in bush burning, deforestation, and killing of plants and animal species.