In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family group. Is this a positive or negative trend?

There is a contentious debate about people in the metropolis prefer living alone or in nuclear family to in extended family. From my point of view, this trend is strongly positive. This essay will give some clues to support the assertion. The first culprit leading to this phenomenon is that living one-person households enables people to live in the comfort and freedom as they wish since whatever they do does not influence others. A particular example here is youngster who live alone can stay up late to watch television or hang out with friends until midnight without receiving any complaints. In addition, it is obvious that living solitary can fully enjoy their life rather than be bothered with household duties. Another reason for supporting this notion is that small family often experience less chance of the conflicts. It is undeniable that more people, more opinions, it leads to more arguments. It makes a significant contribution to rift relationship between family members. Moreover, it is easy for the 2-generation family to have family-bonding activities such as shared dinners, shopping, trips, picnic and so on. However, this is a justification for living in a large family is the economic pressure, and face problems. For an instant, my cousin lives an extended family, whenever she runs into troubles about financial or mental issues, she has entire supporting from her grandparents, parents and siblings. It plays a vital role in close-knit relationships. In conclusion, I think living solitary or in small family have more merits than living in a large family as they can live fully freedom and enjoyed themselves.