Some people think that there are now too many cars on the roads and they are spoiling our towns and cities

Sustainable energy sources using the power of the sun, wind and waves are costly and impractical compared to the fossil fuels that we use nowadays to power our urban areas and transport. This essay completely disagrees with that statement, as conventional resources are becoming scarce and indeed more expensive than renewable resources, and the equipment needed for producing alternative energy is simpler and easier to maintain. Alternative energy sources are not as costly as fossil fuels, because non-renewable sources are being used up at an alarming rate, and this has led to raise their value. It has become more difficult to obtain coal and petroleum products, as the mines and power stations currently working are running out of the materials. For example, the annual budget the Brazilian government designates for the extraction of coal went from $10 million USD in 2017 to $50 million USD in 2018, because of the sudden scarcity of the resource in the mines of the nation. Moreover, environmentally friendly sources are easier to maintain, because the processes entailed in working with alternative resources are not as complex and tangled as those used for non-renewable resources. Once solar panels, hydroelectric stations and wind turbines are built, they work without help. For instance, hydroelectric plants in Germany only need to be assessed once a year, because they mainly use natural processes to work, and the failures of the equipment are rare and minimal. In conclusion, alternative sources of energy using renewable natural resources are much more affordable and less complicated to implement than the conventional sources based on non-renewable resources.