Some people think that the Olympics is no longer important in the 21st century.

It is often argued that the Olympics has lost its importance. I completely agree with this view as I think it is a waste of money which could be used more wisely. Moreover, in my opinion, countries should not compete with each other anymore as it raises aggression and racism. Firstly, the money spent on organising events such as the Olympics should be spent in areas which are more meaningful and useful for society. For events like this, huge amounts of public money are spent by building stadiums, hotels and other equipment. Meanwhile, the healthcare system is about to collapse in many countries. Moreover, people are dying of hunger and diseases every day, while we are competing with each other, having fun. Then after the Olympics, we leave these buildings behind, never using them again. For example, a couple of years ago, Brazil organised the Olympics, and a study showed that sports stadiums are not being used for anything at the moment. Therefore, it was a waste of money to build them for only one event. Secondly, I strongly believe that nations should never compete against each other. This whole ’who is the best’ attitude is extremely toxic and does not lead to equality. In addition, one country should not think that they are better than others, not even after the Olympics. Instead of aggression and hidden racism, we should treat each other with respect and organise events which connect us. For instance, there is evidence that after sports competitions such as rugby or football, fights are 50 per cent more common than after any other events. To conclude, the Olympics is not useful at all since it is too expensive and this money is needed in other areas. In addition, it leads to hate and unnecessary aggression which are not those kinds of things we need in the 21st century.