More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. what are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

We live in a materialistic world where a proportionally large number of the demographic aspire to purchase and own popular brands of clothing, high end automobiles, as well as other products. In my opinion, such propensity is closely associated with prestige combined together with contentment. I believe, the urge to own extortionate items is an overall negative development. Firstly, people associate top brands with prestige and happiness. In other words, ownership of trendy clothes or world class cars naturally makes one appear wealthier. To illustrate, a recent Facebook post by a mother narrated a situation where her child was bullied by her peers because she was dropped off to school by a 90’s inexpensive car on a daily basis. Where as, the child’s peers landed in modern ones such as BMW and Mercedes. As a result of which, the kid’s parents were under pressure to update their car, and when they did, their child instinctively turned happy. However, the need to catch up with expensive articles is, in my opinion an all together a negative development as it segregated the society into the rich and the poor. For instance, super cars studio in the United States do not grant permit to their customers to test drive cars until they paid a certain portion of the bill. They smartly implemented this rule after experiencing economically backward people approaching them for a trial which in the slightest opportunity would provide them a life time experience of driving a luxurious car which otherwise they would not be able to afford. To sum up, by linking prestige and happiness to owning popular extortionate products people are in a constant need to update to latest trends. This is, in my perspective a negative development.