Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people’s lives in negative ways.

The media has long been perceived as a tool providing people with news and information, thus it undoubtedly exerts considerable effects on them. While some argue that this is a negative trend, I personally believe that it does more good than harm. On the one hand, it is without dispute that the news media might sometimes be detrimental to the society. In particular, it has an inclination towards exaggerating the magnitude of the real threat (for example, the contagion of a disease) so as to draw the attention of desired audiences and in pursuit of high audience ratings. This can result in causing a widespread panic among the population. Besides, the news media has a tendency to emphasise some issues or events, which nearly have little relevance to people’s daily lives including an affair that a celebrity is involved with, an occasional vehicle accident, and the like. In other words, viewers are prone to get distracted from something is far more noteworthy, namely poverty, environment-related issues, to name but a few. On the other hand, despite the downside mentioned above, news media yet leaves some undeniable positive impacts on human beings. First and foremost, people can have a provision of needed information on a timely basis, which may contribute to helping them keep up with current affairs and broaden their horizons in many aspects such as economics, politics and cultural diversity in many parts of the world. More importantly, it would be of great essence to acknowledge that news media can sometimes save lives and reduce casualties. Specifically, it conveys the firsthand information about impending natural calamity involving Earthquake, hurricanes and grave flood to concerned audiences and enables them to take corresponding actions promptly. The authority can declare a state of emergency, organize evacuation and distribute aid to the needy regions. In conclusion, news media is a double-edged sword; I hold the view, however, that the perks overshadow the drawbacks.