Many companies and organisations require their employees to wear uniform. What kind of jobs require uniforms? What are the disadvantages of wearing uniform to work?

There is no doubt that these days everyone is looking to wear comfortable outfits at work, however, the question: Do all jobs have to force employees to wear certain uniforms? Is being a controversial issue nowadays, while I tend to believe that only some careers require specific unified clothes for all workers. On one side of the argument there are people who argue that having uniform in all jobs will save employees time and effort in looking for something to wear daily. Furthermore, they argue that workplaces are not the suitable places to wear fancy clothes as labour should be working all the time to enhance the productivity. One good illustration here is the uniform required in the oil companies in Kuwait. This uniform is perfect for many reasons like, it guarantees workers the best safety in order to do their work and avoid injuries and it keeps them recognized to ensure no one is inside the oil company other than employees. On the other hand, it is also possible to consider it with the opposing case. Workers should have the freedom to wear whatever suit them, but they have to keep in mind the type of uniform allowed, for example, in banks everyone should look formal and fancy, however at school teachers should follow a certain dress code which is comfortable for them and keep them moving freely. Moreover, some jobs require certain uniform, while others do not need to have a specific outfit such as doctors, they are wearing a white coat above their clothes, so need to have a uniform. In conclusion, as we have seen there is no easy answer to this question, however, I guess each career has its own requirements regarding safety and keeping workers comfortable during the working hours.