In many countries, people wear more western-style clothes (suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is noticeable that a growing number of people tend to wear western-style clothes instead of their traditional clothes. As far as I am concerned, it closely related to the development of international trade and the feature of western-style clothes themselves, bringing about positive influences holistically. What we cannot deny is that the advance of international business is an indispensable factor of promoting western-style clothes. Indeed, the majority of western countries are developed countries. When the rest of the world do business with them, it is inevitable to accept their rules and cultures, clothes are no exception. In addition, compared with traditional clothes, western-style clothes are more suitable to wear in some formal occasions, such as academic conferences and business negotiations, due to the fact that their color and designs are simple, giving others a sense of profession and being respected. Some people may claim that it will lead to the disappearance of their own traditional clothes and culture. Obviously, such worries are unnecessary. Although an increasing number of people choose to wear western-style clothes, our government still can take some measures to protect, even promote traditional clothes. Furthermore, dressing western-style clothes has become an inevitable mainstream all over the world, even being a symbol of modernization. Therefore, choosing western-style clothes can help us more easily to participate in international affairs, especially international business and commerce. In conclusion, the prevalence of western-style clothes is the result of the development of international business and globalization. Compare with insisting traditional clothes, it seems that accepting change is a more sensible choice.