Some people think that the media(such as newspaper) should be allowed to publish information about people's private lives. Other, however, think that there should be controls to stop the media publishing this kind of information.

Opinions differ as to whether newspapers hold the right to publicize people’s personal life or strict control should be put upon such an action. This essay will discuss two opposing ideas. To begin with, it is understandable why some people support the publication of private details in newspapers. One reason is that some individuals, especially celebrities and political figures, would want to have their name widely known. Thus, they would allow newspapers to write articles about their daily healthy routines to cultivate interests of the mass population. For example, the publicity of a prominent politician’s pastime of charity or helping the elderly would significantly boost his credibility among all citizens, especially his supporters. Likewise, an article by a musician showing that he also regularly spends time on drawing on the weekends would showcase his talents and attract more fans. On the contrary, there are valid reasons for newspapers to be controlled on exposing people’s private life. Firstly, the flaw aspects of individuals should not be shared publicly as it will damage their image. For instance, a piece of news about the love affair of an actress will cause a massive scandal resulting in a decrease in her reputation. Similarly, the extravagant liveliness of a royal member when unveiled would bring an abomination to him and the entire royal family. Moreover, the uncontrolled publicity of private details means that people’s lives are being illegally invaded and recorded, which may be against their will and certainly violate the law of privacy. Therefore, every publisher should be strongly restricted in recording and sharing private lives unless they acquire people’s permission. In conclusion, while some people accept the news coverage of their personal life for promoting purposes, others believe publishers should be strictly controlled as non-permitted publicity of private details might rather harm their reputation.