Some people think that the main purpose of education is to make individuals useful to society while others say education helps them to achieve personal ambitions.

Defining education is difficult, there are different views regarding the topic. Some consider it a requirement to make a person a contributing member of the society and others consider it as a mere tool to achieve personal triumphs. Here, in this essay we will delve into both these views to find out why education is important. A society is comprised of the people who live in it and their thoughts influence the direction of its growth. For instance, a village community which has no basic access to education will not know about the new developments which are happening outside their area. They can get easily exploited by outsiders. Even though their basic day to day activities might carry on, there will not be any greater things achieved through this. Hence, this is one of the main reasons why developing countries like India give high importance to bringing education to its masses by having free schooling for the primary grades. However, being educated has its own perks. As you become aware of what is around you, your ambitions increase accordingly. You will strive to achieve things to earn respect and this in turn will reflect on the social status you and your family. Moreover, when a group of people strive to realize their personal ambitions, it will also help the community they are living in. As the skill level of the people in the area increases, businesses will come in and this will create jobs. For example, Bengaluru is considered as India's silicon valley and a lot of multinational companies have their offices there. This is because of the high density of technical proficient talent available in this location. From a personal point of view, I would say that being educated doesn't necessarily mean University degree. Being educated means you are aware enough to know what happens around you and you are able to understand them and use them to your advantage. A society is part of a country and country is made of what i