Some people think that the main purpose of education is to make individuals useful to society while others say education helps them to achieve personal ambitions.

It is true that education brightens our life in numerous ways. While some people state that the aim of education is to make individuals contribute to the development of a country; others believe that education is a pathway to help people achieve their goals. Personally, I completely agree with the former view for a number of reasons. On the one hand, there are several reasons why education helps individuals achieve their ambitions. It is widely acknowledged that individualism becomes a major trend where people put aside social aspect. Firstly, education opens pathways to new opportunities. For example, a person who receives higher education has a chance to study abroad. As a result, he is exposed to new culture and language. Secondly, receiving good education allows people to get a good position in the job market which is more and more competitive. Therefore, these people have a high salary which leads to a fulfilling life. On the other hand, I believe that it is necessary for people to devote to their countries through education. To begin with, the ultimate aim of education is to contribute and implement the knowledge for the prosperity of society. For example, those who are expertise in agriculture need to train farmers to apply advanced technologies into their jobs in order to produce high-quality products. Therefore, schools should encourage individuals to achieve their education for the sake of benefitting others. In addition, educated people would create higher productivity in jobs compared with those who do not receive formal education which leads to the sustainable development of a country. In conclusion, it seems to me that education should be used to contribute to the progress of a nation rather than to serve personal benefits.