Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability.

While a few deem assessments as unwanted pressure on students – showcasing only a small amount of their capability, there are people who consider examinations as a decent method of surveying a pupil’s level. This composition will discuss the opposing views on tests – as an assessment – for pupils; further presenting my slant that exams play an integral role in the academy. To begin with, academic syllabuses are being improved over the years. Clearly, there is enough information and practice that goes into building the capability of students. These additional tests can cause an unwanted compulsion to a beginner, as it requires to provide the added effort to study. To exemplify, young students have to attend classes, submit homework, and go through the painstaking process of giving multiple exams throughout their academics. Thus, being propelled by incessant pressure at a tender age. On the other front, assessments aid in confirming the depth of knowledge gained by students, and evaluates their situation-tackling capability. Understanding where a student stands, from an academic standpoint is necessary, helps teachers gauge and certify a student’s ability. For instance, tests taken in every term serve as a method to check pupil's eligibility for promotion to the next level of education. In addition, with increasing competition outside it has become crucial for institutions to improve their standard of education. Learners faced with multiple challenges early in schools can excel well in future prospects. To illustrate, examinations at every academic level prepares students for interviews and cut-throat competition of the job market, in their future. Hence, it is imperative to assess learners and develop them much earlier. To conclude, people have varied opinion on the requirement of tests for students with some arguing it only casts an unneeded pressure on them. But, in my personal view, assessments can help identify a child's true potential and pave their path to success.