Some people think that the governments of developing countries should introduce new technology to improve the quality of life, while some people believe that the best way is to develop education.

It is true that technological advances can make people’s life easier, and is suggested to be introduced in less developed counties. Others, however, argue that education is the fundamental means for promoting a positive development. On the one hand, it is widely held notion that technological innovations bring a couple of benefits to people. For one thing, with the advert of the telecommunication and the Internet, they are able to work from home, who can lower the cost of travel, save time for commuting forth and back and rather gain more spare times, thereby achieving work-life balance. For another, citizens’ life expectancy can be raised owing to developments in the medical technology. For instance, a number of new drugs and innovative medical devices can cure previously incurable diseases and greatly increase surgery success rate within the bounds of possibility. On the other hand, education holds a key in one’s job prospects as high literacy and a range of skills boost their employability and living standards. To more specific, technical courses assist learners getting rid of poverty by acquiring practical skills in a trade, such as car mechanics. Subjects like graphic design and accounting place importance on job skills, while medicine and nursing impart professional skills. For those are educated and highly skilled, they are more competitive in job hunting and acquire wider lucrative employment opportunities, thereby improving living standards with a decent pay. In conclusion, personally, I am of the opinion that education is of essential importance for a person’s promising future, especially for the deprived one. Yet, the advent of technology not only provides people with convenience, but also can assist them in learning. Online courses or distant learning courses, for example, can allow adult workers to study part-time.