Some people think that the government should increase the tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy.

It is considered that imposing higher taxes on junk foods would allow people to consume healthier foods. However, I strongly believe that this is not the most effective way to solve this. To begin with, higher taxes on unhealthy foods mean increase in prices on commodities, yet only poor people would likely be affected on this matter. Moreover, this movement would cause inconvenience to working employees because the time they can spend personally or with their families would be only used to prepare foods at home. Finally, higher taxes will not discourage affluent consumers, especially the rich ones, from buying fast foods. They will still continue to consume, hence, increasing the tax on these foods will have only a marginal effect on its consumption. Perhaps a better solution is to make healthy foods more available and affordable. People nowadays are totally aware of the consequences of eating too much foods which are not nutritious. As a matter of fact, more people are more inclined to eat fruits, vegetables and other kind of healthier foods, but the lack of supply and excessive prices in the marketplace hinder the people to purchase these foods. As a result, buying from fast food chains becomes the alternative because it is more convenient and cheaper. As a summary, I am against to increase taxes on unhealthy foods will only deter low income earners from buying them. A better way to help reduce consumption of these foods is to make the healthier alternative more affordable and convenient.