Some people thinks that government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy.

Nowadays the contentious argument that government authorities in a bid to increase healthy food consumption should tax junk food at a higher rate, has sparked a heated debate amongst many. I completely agree with this notion, and in this essay will explain my point of view. Firstly, increasing government levies on unhealthy food would increase the financial burden on people, hence many will divert their attention towards consuming more organic items. In order to elaborate, currently the price of a hamburger in the U. S. is comparatively cheaper than a green salad. Introduction of new taxes shall force fast food restaurants to increase their rates, which will evidently result in a consumer shift to more healthy alternatives. Secondly, once people increase the intake of healthy food products, they will become more conscious regarding their physical well-being as a result society will themselves start encouraging the use healthy items. Thirdly, regular use of junk food results in various medical complications in people, perhaps it’s the high quantity of fat it contains. Therefore the government should take necessary steps to promote the use of healthier options. On the other hand, imposing higher taxes on unhealthy food, shall indeed have a few disadvantages, particularly for some type of food industries. For example, a chocolate factory will become a victim of lower sales and profitability as a direct result of new taxes on unhealthy food items. Further, organic and healthier foods are also quite expensive in some regions of the world, as a result poor members of the society may become deprived of any type of food whether healthy or unhealthy. To conclude, food is a basic necessity of everyone and higher taxes will surely create a shift towards healthier alternatives. However the authorities should place certain controls so that the latter always remains within the buying power of poor people.