Some people think that the government should ensure the healthy lifestyle of people, but others argue that it should be decided by individuals.

Whether healthy lifestyle should be a personal choice or should be ensured by a government is a debated issue. According to some, healthy lifestyle is a preference and this is determined by individuals while others believe that the government of a country should take care of the healthcare facilities of all citizens. Personally, I believe that healthy lifestyle is a choice that should be made by each individual while the government of a country should guarantee proper treatment and healthy lifestyle facilities. On one hand, if an individual has the determination of leading a healthy life, he would need very little help from the state. The healthy lifestyle is a habit and this is a choice made by an individual. The government can make sure better healthcare, exercise and entertainment facilities throughout the country but if someone does not have the habit of leading a healthy life, the government has nothing to do about it. Interestingly, this is a choice we can make regardless of our social and economic status. For instance, a man with a lot of money might live an unhealthy lifestyle while someone with a very little earning can decide to live a good and healthy lifestyle. Thus healthy lifestyle is a choice that should be decided by individuals rather than the government of a country. It is evident that family can contribute a lot to teach a child to choose a good and healthy lifestyle. On the other hand, there is no denying the fact that, a government also has an important role to play to ensure a better lifestyle of its citizens. For instance, in countries where the government fails to ensure proper education, health care facilities, recreation and economic development, people usually lead unhealthy life there. Some important laws and policies like drug controlling can determine the extent of people’s healthy lifestyle. Thus it is true that government policy and initiatives help citizens to have a better lifestyle. Considering both viewpoints, I would like to conclude that healthy lifestyle of citizens in a country is a combination of individual choice and government initiatives and policy. Thus personally I feel that each person should choose a healthy lifestyle while the government of a country should ensure proper facilities to make it easier.