Many countries spend a lot of money in art. Some people think investment in art is necessary, but others say money is better spent on improving health and education.

While art, history, tradition and culture represent a country, proper healthcare and education facilities are the two most important pillars of a nation. Thus people are often divided on their opinion whether spending money on art or in education and health system is more effective. Personally, I believe that education and healthcare sectors should get more priority while a large portion of the budget should also be dedicated to the development of art. People who advocate art often opine that a government should always invest a large amount of money for art and they have their own reasons. They believe that art is also a part of our education, tradition and heritage. It is an important sector and thus should always get priority. They often speak about the renaissance and try to focus how art has contributed to the revolution. They feel that a great portion of the budget should always be reserved for the development of art. On the contrary, another group of people feel that, when a government fails to ensure proper education and healthcare facilities, it actually will have a little contribution towards the development of art. For instance, if a person has got only a few dollars and he is hungry or ill, he will not purchase an artwork. It is quite natural that we should first make sure that we have foods to eat or medicine to treat us when we are ill and only then we will purchase artworks to decorate our home.   If we do not have a place to live in or food to eat, purchasing and owning a great artwork is not realistic. Similarly, a government should first focus on education and healthcare sectors and then develop the art. Again, there is a very little value of art and similar creative works for a nation that has few literate people. Thus if a country already has a quite strong education and healthcare facility, it can then allocate a large budget for the development of art. For countries that do not have many medical colleges, should not spend more on establishing art colleges. In summary, I personally believe that allocating money to different sectors in a country should be done based on the economic, social and political conditions of a country. However, with the limited amount of budget healthcare and education should always be the priority while a portion of the budget for art is also important.