Some people think that the government should ensure the healthy lifestyle of people, but others argue that it should be decided by individuals.

Some people think that the government should ensure the healthy lifestyle of people, but others argue that it should be decided by individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Healthy lifestyle is paramount to leading a long and happy life. Some believe that governments should shoulder the responsibility for its citizens health. While others believe, it is should be an individual choice. It's a very commendable if an individual is able to make right choices in the matters of his/her well-being. However, the problem stems from the fact that many people fail to make right decisions pertaining to their health. Evidently, putting the responsibility of healthiness in the hands of people, clearly doesn't have a good success rate. In today's world, diseases like obesity, diabetes and cancer has become global epidemics. The majority of these illnesses are attributed to abysmal eating habits and lack of physical exercise. And there is overwhelming an amount of research out there that could support these claims. However, if governments take the responsibility of the healthiness of its citizens, it has better chances of combating these diseases. The reason being, governments can easily get access to the best research available out there to combat these conditions. Also, it has the best doctors and research facilities at its disposal, which makes it easier for them to come up with the solutions to eradicate these diseases. But But, there are also quite a number of people who advocate that the decision of lifestyle should solely rest with the individuals. They claim that the excessive indulgence of state in the lives of people might come off as controlling. And nobody appreciates being constantly told what to eat and how much to exercise. In fact, there is a chance people would do the exact opposite as a form of protest towards the authority. In conclusion, the state that strives for the welfare of its citizens is more likely to build a strong country. At the same time it should refrain from being excessively invasive on the health related decisions of its people. No matter how much effort the government puts in, at the end of the day every citizen should possess his own individual accountability. We as responsible individuals, should put our own sincere endeavours in leading a sickness free life.