The use of illegal drugs, such as heroin and cocaine, are becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with drug abuse, and what are some of the possible solutions

Drug abuse is becoming increasingly serious in many nations. Although drugs threaten many Societies, their effects can also be combated successfully. This essay looks at some of the problems caused by drug use on society, and suggests some solutions to the problems. Drug addiction causes multiple problems for countries and communities. The medical effects are very obvious. Addicts abuse their bodies and neglect their health and, and so eventually require expensive treatment or hospitalization. In some cases, such as Marilyn Monroe, an illegal substances overdose even leads to death. The second effect is a crime. People who take drugs become crazy and irrational and often cause harm and danger to themselves and others. However, the menace of drugs can be fought. Education is the main way to tackle this issue. People need to be aware of the effects so that they can avoid this problem. Children need to be trained at home and in school about the dangers and need for avoiding drugs. The government could also use infomercials to educate their citizens. A second approach is to increase police manpower and powers to stop dealers and to enforce the law. In conclusion, drug abuse is a serious issue because it causes harmful effects on people’s health and people who are high often commit crimes. The best approaches to deal with it are to educate the public about its effects and also to give the police more power to fight drug related crimes. Although the problem is unlikely to be entirely eliminated in the short term, there are concrete steps to reduce the effects it is having on the current society.