Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern days the certain amount of our daily cuisine is carried from the places of origin. According to some people prefer only locally-made product items for their inconsideration of their significant benefits to the environment and finance. I personally support with the statement based on my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs. Firstly, it is economically beneficial for both local farmers and consumers. If people choose the meal produced in origin where they live can become the crucial factor of increasing labour force and work place in there. Result in, this kind of benefits is likely to affect the improvement for farmers' life standard because the income is constantly rising from their small scale businesses. Another economically regarded reason is that it can be more cost-effective for consumers who are able to buy the foods without high rate of transportation fare or importing tax. For example, from my country’s experience many big scale food manufacturers run their business in near the capital city. For this reason many provincial shops need to pay carriage costs for staple food for capital city and all this money added up when consumers buy it. Secondly, it is inevitable that big amount of gasoline is utilized for food transportation. According to the recent geographic survey, the greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions caused by food freight have been dramatically increasing in recent years and accounts of 20 percent of total GHG emissions in Mongolia. However, we can tackle the worst impacts on the environment such as air pollution, encouraging the local food production. On the other hand, people cannot be balanced their diet only relying on local food it means that the choice available to people in terms of varieties would be limited as some products are not contained specific nutritious is the main disadvantage. This limits the local markets trigger to sell value added products from a long distance away. To conclude, although transforming a food from far away is made an opportunity for consumers, which they can ensure their variety of food demand, local food choice is not only much cheaper for consumers, but it also possible for them to increase their individual contribution to the environment and natural resource appropriate usage.