Some people think that the government should decide which subjects should students study at the University while other believe that students should be allowed to apply for subjects they prefer.

Opinions differ on whether students should choose their course of studies by themselves at tertiary level or they might take enrolment in the subjects suggested by governing authorities. In this essay, I will analyse both points of view in the upcoming paragraphs. To initiate with, higher authorities are more likely to build a better and secure future for youngsters by selecting their course of study as they possess a vast amount of knowledge about the job opportunities in the upcoming days. So, instead of preferring common subjects for students, which are of no use in further jobs, government focus on certain unusual courses in order to create a sufficient balance with the degree holders and the work opportunities. For instance, In the small countries like Korea, where governing bodies are responsible for deciding the study areas for students, the rate of unemployment is comparatively less than in the other countries. As a result, job-seekers get more work opportunities which lead to a significant decline in the rate of unemployment. On the flip side, students can also take right decisions if they are provided enough liberty to select a course to study at University level as they are enough grown-up and matured person to study according to their own interests. To exemplify, If a person has a passion to become a doctor then he\she can not be forced to study engineering subjects. Subsequently, students not only score good grades in their evaluation tests, but also do better in their jobs which they will get after completing the relevant course. To recapitulate, government must take decisions about the education of students at a higher level by keeping in mind that it should not beyond their interests of study.