Some people think that the government should decide the subject for students to study in university Others believe that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer

University education is totally needed nowadays to compete in the global village. While some people are of the opinion that government should choose the disciplines that students have to study at university, I believe the choice of subjects should be given to the students. On the one hand, if learners can choose the subject on their own, they will be more likely to do well in it because that is what of their interest. They excel in their field and when they enter the job market, they surely perform well in their career. Moreover, there will be lesser drop-outs of universities which are common if students are forced to study what they don’t like. This also instills a sense of responsibility in the students when they make a decision about their subject which afterwards influences their whole future. On the other hand, if the government chooses the subjects, the job sector would naturally be taken into account. It has been seen that there are several job vacancies without qualified people and many qualified people without jobs. With the governmental interference, there would be lower unemployment rate as the authority knows which sector has job vacancies and the number of people working in various fields would eventually be balanced. Secondly, it would help those students who find it difficult to decide what career to pursue. However, in the long term, it will be inefficient as workers do not have enough passion for their occupation. In conclusion, while there are merits of both situations, on the whole, it would be better to leave the choice to students to select their subjects as there would be lesser drop-outs and they would excel in their field.