Some people say that government should decide what subjects a student can study, while other believe the students should decide what they want to study.

Education plays a vital role in nourishing the future generations of any nation. However, defining curriculum for the students is a very tedious task. On the one hand, few have an opinion that the government should take the responsibility of deciding the subjects, others have a viewpoint that students should themselves take a call on the subjects, they want to study. Undoubtedly, the children tend to take wrong decisions in their teenage because of the scant knowledge. Therefore, the decision to take up the course subjects on their own can have a detrimental livelong effect on them as it can be hard for them to ascertain, what is beneficial for them. Moreover, if the state decides on the subjects offered, it can focus on an all-round nourishment of a child. For instance, a student might be interested in sports, but having a basic knowledge of science, maths and the other subjects would certainly help in the future. Contrastingly, the children feel that the study should be based on the interests of an individual. Furthermore, according to the experts, about 40 percent of children fail in the subjects that they find uninteresting. Additionally, a student can excel in a particular area if the study content is decided by a student based on the engrossment. For instance, a child, intending to take up art as a profession would find other subjects boring. Thus, letting the students chose their course also has a visible positive impact. In the nutshell, the course plays an important role in an overall development of the students. Therefore, I have a viewpoint that, although students should be given liberty to take a decision on the subjects they are keen in studying, but the government should play a part to help the students chose their content wisely.