Some people think that the government should decide which subject should study at the university, while others think that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer. Discuss the two views and give your opinion.

These days academic credentials are much needed to step into a world of success. People hold different views about whether the national administrator should determine the subject of study or pupils should be permitted to enrol in the courses of their own passion. In this essay, I will discuss both the sides of the given arguments before I reach to an appropriate conclusion. A section of society believes that government should decide academic stream of individuals. Firstly, it would help to curb the issue of unemployment. Undoubtedly, national authorities possess analytical data, entailing contemporary situation of the job market, growing industries, sectors which need to develop in order to improve the economical growth. On the basis of such information, officials would determine the career path of every student and provide assurance of job as well as the economical growth of the nation. To illustrate, if the majority of students select their career in banking and finance industry, unemployment would increase in the finance sector as well as it would impact negatively on the other industrial sectors too. Secondly, it would decline economical inequality. From the social perspective, by determining subject of study, government alleviates the probability of unemployment, which helps to bring social stability and equality in the community. However, there are certain schools of thought that undergraduates should decide their further subjects of study. To begin with, it is irrefutable fact that persons provide better results if they are working in the field of their interest. To add to this, people who obtain work in their appealing subject can perform excellent and achieve higher goals even if the sector of their enthusiasm has limited opportunities. For instance, there are countless examples of certain well-known scientists who have achieved a great success in their field of importance even though there was a limited scope of success. Moreover, from the personal perspective, the process of self-selection creates a sense of freedom. Every animate love the sense of freedom which evolves the overall personality and help individuals to develop their skills that consequently contribute to the development of the nation. To conclude, in line with the discussion above, it is evident that both the sides have their intrinsic worth. However, I am of the opinion that pupils should have the right to determine their own subject of study as it would be beneficial for comprehensive growth.