Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves.

It is highly sensitive and debatable issue about who is responsible to reduce the criminal activities: authorities or citizens. This essay shades some light on prime responsibilities of mankinds as well as government which is followed by my opinion. To begin with, crime rate has proliferated all around the world. The major factor behind criminal activities in first world countries is the unemployment. In addition, to earn money, youngsters influence themselves to do unethical activities such as smuggling because of inadequate job opportunities. Hence, authority should try to create jobs. Apart from this, to take safety measures against crime, government can allocate more amount of budget to improve security systems in a perticular area. To exemplify, authority should try to cover each and every part of a region by CCTV cameras and monitor them for 24*7. so, people can sleep peacefully. Moreover, government should deploy more policeforce for petrolling in sensitive areas where the probability of criminal activity is high. For example, government of Delhi has increased the number of policemen at night petrolling after a heinous rape case reported in 2016. As a result, the crime rate has declined because of awareness of authorities. On contrary, some people blame that inhabitants are responsible to reduce crimes. However, people can only rely on self defence in order to protect themselves and Korea knows this very well because it is mandatory to take training of self defence such as karate and taekwondo, whereas, In India, where the awareness of self defence is not good, people can take tools which help them to protect theirselves like pepper spray. To conclude, It is irresolute to say that whose responsibility is to prevent antisocial activities. I opine that government and people both have to assimilate and contribute equally to reduce the crime.