Some people think that the Olympics is no longer important in the 21st century.

These days, it is often argued that the Olympics is no longer relevant in the present era. Despite having its origin in unpopular ancient's believes, I disagree with this notion because this sporting event helps to promote tourism and world peace. Firstly, the Olympics supports tourism as it brings people from various parts of the world together for the sporting event. Both the host cities and visitors benefit tremendously as such cities experience massive infrastructural development to attract tourists and the tourists are offered the opportunity to visit sites previously unknown to them. For instance, the Sydney Olympics in 2000 enlightened people about the beautiful city of sydney and Australia. As a result, Australia experienced a surge in tourism. If there were no Olympics in 2000, Sydney may not have been in the spotlight of the world. Furthermore, the Olympics promote peace around the world. During the bidding for the event, various governments seek for support from participating countries in order to win the bid. Hence good diplomatic relationship is needed. More so, nations leave behind their political differences during the events while campaigns against discrimination such as those against racism are promoted. As a result, the Olympics has enable people to interact with each other's despite differing political ideologies. In conclusion, the Olympics is still important today as it ensure worldwide people and aid tourism. Increased public awareness about it should be encouraged.