Some people think that the family is the most important influence on young adults. Other people think that friends are the most important influence on young adults. Which view do you agree with?

There is no doubt that teenage is where a child learns habits for life. While some argue that family plays an important role in influencing children, I believe friends have the most impact on an individual's life. Firstly, young adults spend most of their day with friends. This is because they spent a majority of their day in schools, extracurricular classes, and playing with friends. For instance, a kid goes to school for eight hours, and adding classes and playing time, makes it up to ten hours spend with friends. This results in spending only a few hours with family. All this time, they are communicating with friends and learning new skills. Furthermore, teenagers learn relatively quickly compared to adults. So any behaviour by their friends leaves a lasting influence. Secondly, these days, there is a huge social pressure in friend circles. In other words, people want to be accepted in the group. They tend to behave like the group, regardless of the consequences. For example, if a person smokes, the non smokers are likely to pick up that habit. If a young adult does not align themselves with the group, they face bullying, or the danger of being kicked out of the circle. In addition, in a friend circle where some students score high on an exam, the other also work hard to keep up with their friends. In contrast, if some people in a group perform poorly in exams, others also looses motivation and scores less. In conclusion, with more time being spent with friends, and the social pressure nowadays, young adults get highly influenced by their friends rather than family.