TOEFL essay: Some people think that the family is the most important influence on young adults. Other people think that friends are the most important influence on young adults. Which view do you agree with? Use examples to support your position.

As we live in society and belong to different social community, being influenced by other people to whom we relate is almost inevitable. Two of the most important social systems that have a large impact on our lives are family and peers. We are affected by our friends in several ways, but it is the family which will shape the outline of our lives. I feel this way for two reasons I will vastly explore in the following essay. To begin with, family members are the ones with whom we grow up, they teach us how to see the world we live in and influence our interpretation of experiences and events go around. They bring up and support us both intellectually and financially as we develop from infant to young adult, so it logically leads to being greatly dependent on family members. In addition, they know us well enough to give a guidelines on major decision in life. For example when I decided to go to university at that age, my father always told me how good I am at designing and encourages me to be an architect. On the other side friends will influence on our immediate life style for example what to have for fun, our clothing styles or help us in the course of life. Secondly because, young adults at that age spend most of their lives with family members or at most with relatives. So through this time children get familiar with their parents ideologies, theories about the people, society, events take place around us. They indicate us what is worth doing and what is not, how to relate people which will influence on our future social life, help us discover our talents and flourish them. For example I was born in a family with high ability in artistic activity, so I began to play piano when I was 4 and at this time right now I am very professional at it which without my parents enforcement I would never do that. And also lots of friend I have had at that time was because of my proficiency at playing music. Thirdly, family members influence on our friend choice unconsciously due to the way they train their children. For example everyone at school or other community attract to people who have the same goal as the other have. Or find people who meet their criterias. All in all, to put the issue into a nut shell, family influence on teenagers’ lives to a more extend than their friends. And that is mostly because of intellectual, financial dependency and the amount of time they spend with their family.