Some people say that physical education classes are an important part of a child’s education. Others believe that it is more important to focus on academics during school time.

The inclusion of physical education in the academic curriculum has always been a hot topic of discussion. Some people hold the view, that sports are an essential aspect of the school education system, whereas the others have totally different opinion as they believe full emphasis should be given to the studies only. In this essay both the opinions will be discussed. The group supporting the involvement of physical activities in the school system, focus on students being both physically and mentally fit, along with their educational development. As it is very rightly said that a healthy mind dwells in a healthy body. Similarly the health and games related subjects can definitely help in the overall development of the kids. For instance, a recent study has also shown that children involved in sports have better concentration and grasping power as compared to the ones focusing only on the studies. Apart from this, some parents believe that physical education can teach their wards major etiquettes like the sportsman spirit, dedication, teamwork and many more, which can be beneficial in their survival in the practical world. On the contrary, some parents strongly disagree with the above facts and the emphasis on simply focusing on the academics. They think games and physical activities can divert the student’s focus away from the studies. In this world of high competition, long hours of study are demanded to beat others and achieve great ranks. For example, in entrance tests like IIT, AIIMS, NDA and many others, thousands of candidates appear every year and the selection criteria demands one to excel in the exams. Additionally they believe, to be successful in the life and to opt for good carrier, games and sports won’t help, so all the focus should be set in the science and other important subjects in the school. To conclude, in my opinion, it is rightly said ‘All work and no play can make Jack a dull boy’. So definitely a balance should be maintained in both the learning and health. Focusing on a single activity can have detrimental effects on a child’s life.