some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvanatages of a family run business

Family run businesses are believed to be the most successful ones. Early exposure will be advantageous in the development of the skills needed in the business, while it will be disadvantageous for an individual to run the business, with a lack of passion. The main advantage of running a business within the family is the exposure to the demands of the business at a young age, which will aid in the development of the necessary skill-sets by the time an individual is ready to run the business. In other words, the element of surprise that comes with other entrepreneurial jobs is lost, in case of a family run business. Therefore, the expense of training is reduced which in turn spikes the business' productivity. To illustrate, a recent study in Business weekly reported that family run businesses showed a 34% reduction in the overall expenditure for training costs compared to other businesses, because of the early work-exposure prevalent in them. On the other hand, some individuals may find that they are not passionate about running the business, which can become very suffocating. Lack of motivation can have disastrous effects on the individual and on the business. For example, a large proportion of young entrepreneurs have reported facing a burn-out because of their lack of passion. Dealing with a burn-out causes mental stress and increases the feeling of worthlessness in young people. This happens because not everybody in the family can have the same drive and the same vision for the future of the business. To conclude, though family businesses are believed to be successful, it has its own share of highs and lows. Early work exposure can be great but the increasing amount of people feeling they can't escape the inevitability of joining the business is detrimental.