Fast-food companies should not be allowed to give away free toys with their food.

Free toys that are given away by fast-food joints is a sales strategy to increase the company’s sale. Unlike in the past, when companies were interested in their customers, nowadays they are only interested to reap profits. It is imperative that these companies must not be allowed to lure children by giving toys with the meal as this will further increase the consumption of unhealthy food. Children are innocent and are in no position to understand the manipulation these companies are doing to sell their unhealthy product. This is because attracted by the toys, children instead of eating a healthy meal opt for unhealthy food items such as fries and sugary drinks. Consequently, high-calorie consumption over a period of time results in weight gain, obesity and other medical ailments. Subsequently, an unhealthy body leads to an unhealthy mind and when this happens on a large scale, productivity and quality of a nation’s capital decrease. Thus, a small stimulus results in a big problem. However, by banning fast-food companies to give toys as freebies with meals, children will explore other food options available to them. Most importantly, because of the imposed ban on these freebies children will no longer crave for a particular type of food and will be willing to try some other food suggested by their parents such as fruit salads. Over time, they will develop healthy dietary habit leading to good health. Eventually, they will grow into strong and healthy adults. Therefore, an intervention is required to protect the innocent class of citizen. In conclusion, it is evident that fast-food companies are targeting the mouldable minds of children for their selfish motives, without giving much thought to the danger they create for society as a whole. If we truly wish to build a healthy nation, we need to step in and protect our children.