Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

It is common for some people that running a family business lead to the best success. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from this approach. To begin with the positives, a crucial advantage behind running a family business is that having trust between family members. The reason behind this is that they often work as team members, thus everyone relies on the other to ensure success, without having the thoughts of being robbed. For instance, I have worked for a company which was managed by a team that consists of a father and his sons and daughters, I liked the way how the work was done and how everyone was relying on the other within a positive and confidence manner. Besides the trust, the work environment is usually optimistic, which leads to a magnificent income. Nevertheless, family businesses sometimes do present problems between the members. This is because it is often seen that there is inflexibility when dealing among the members. For instance, the GUCCI Company is considered one of the biggest retail family business companies around the globe, until the son split off from the joint with his father in the late eighties. Another significant disadvantage is that some of the family businesses are lacking the organizational structure for an ordinary company. Therefore, it is often seen that there is no clear purpose for the members in order to be done. To conclude, although running a family business is beneficial in terms of trust and a friendly work environment, it is vital to consider that it has stubbornness among family members and the lack of a structure.