Some people believe that governments must apply high taxes to provide good public services for everyone. Give your opinion.

Governments collect taxes to fund services such as education, health and infrastructure. Most people, me included, defend the idea that tax rates should be high enough so that these services can reach everyone adequately. Also in order to achieve and maintain high service quality, governments naturally require a lot of funding. Countries are not composed solely of cities, but also of rural areas, and it is the governments’ responsibility to provide public services in these areas as well. Reaching the rural areas is costly as it requires roads and bridges to be built in order to transport goods and people there. For example, a recent study calculated that healthcare cost per capita is %45 higher in villages compared to the urban areas. In light of this information, we need high taxes to extend the reach of public services to cover everyone in our country. Another reason why countries should impose high tax rate is that to maintain and improve the quality of services. Education and healthcare have extra importance on that matter as they are quite crucial for a country to improve and flourish. Statistics gathered from official worldwide showed that increasing investment in healthcare elevated life expectancy. So, in order to improve and maintain healthcare, or any public service in that matter, governments should be able to collect more money through higher taxes. In conclusion, I believe high tax rates are necessary as it is the only way to give rural areas with adequate public service. In addition, improvement and stability of these services can only be achieved through this way.