Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike.

Many people lost their lives due to motor vehicle accidents annually; therefore, it is necessary for governments worldwide to apply proper strategies to prevent car accidents. Some people suggest that governments should increase the minimum legal age to obtain the legal drive license in order to enhance road safety. I partially agree with this suggestion and the essay will discuss my view. To begin with, increasing the minimum age to be eligible to obtain a drive license is crucial to promote safe driving worldwide. Firstly, the proper mental capacity for driving is one of the necessary elements for safety driving. Teenagers tend to have fragile mental capacities which make them high-risk drivers. Only when they mature enough and have better capacities to control their mood, they are allowed to drive independently. Moreover, with the industrialization, road conditions tend to become more complex over the world, especially in the inner cities which contribute to the challenges of driving. The complicated and tough driving environment requires all drivers’ to stay calm during driving. It is challenging for teenagers to stay calm during urgent situations as driving. For example, in Canada, teenagers are allowed to drive legally at the age of 16 years old with restriction. However, this age teenagers remain lack of logic thinking capacity and may also put them at high risk to involve into car accidents. Therefore, increasing the age of 18 years old should be considered in Canada. In addition, nowadays, teenagers face more challenges during their daily lives due to the more complicated living environment. They tend to be vulnerable to nurture negative habits such drinking or doing drugs before driving, This may be resulted from that they are lack of proper logical thinking skills before they mature enough to make right decisions. Moreover, mental health issues are much common among contemporary population, including teenagers and also causes detrimental efficacy to their fitness for driving, especially for younger ones. Finally, the minimum legal age should be various in terms of individual national living environment. For example, in Chinese metropolitans, being 18 years old is a muss standard for the youth to attend driving school and test because of Chinese complex and crowed living environment. If the youth has suffered from mental health issues, the proper age that allows them to drive legally should be increased in order to protect the public. In conclusion, in order to keep motor vehicle accident as low as possible to promote safe driving, setting proper legal age of the youth for legal driving is crucial. The governments around the world should establish a proper legal age for the youth’s qualification of driving. At least 18 years old is a reasonable age for the health youth; while, for the ones with mental health issues, the legal ages to drive should be increased due to the above reasons. Proper driving rules will enhance national happiness of the public.