Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is reducing the amount of maximum speed of vehicles. Others think that other ways exist.

Boosting security on roads is a debatable issue. Some people argue that imposing tight limitations on speed is the best approach to tackling dangerous road accidents while others disagree. This essay will discuss why reducing speed can be an efficient strategy, but why enlarging road networks and encouraging the use of public transport are ultimately superior strategies. First and foremost, lowering speed on highways and motorways is an effective solution to the increasing number of accidents and car crashes as excessive speed has always been reported to be the main cause for deadly injuries and loss of life in many countries around the world. For example, in many European countries, detailed government reports about road security in 2015 show that a staggering 50 to 60 per cent of total accidents reported were caused chiefly by speed. The report results pushed many governments to consider putting caps on the speed of cars and lorries to deal with the issue. As a result of these policies, the ensuing reports for both 2016 and 2017 respectively demonstrate a considerable decrease in the amount car crashes and casualties. On the other hand, although putting caps on the amount of speed drivers are allowed to exceed is effective, it is not the most efficient way of dealing with problem of road accidents. Building new roads as well as promoting the use of public transport are the most efficient policies to enhance security on highways. First, constructing new road networks will certainly improve traffic flow and decrease vehicle frequency thereby lowering the potential risk of accidents. Moreover, governments can encourage people to use public transport by improving the quality of transport facilities, and making them more affordable. Therefore many people will be tempted to take a comfortable and affordable bus or train commute to work or to a shopping centre rather than use their own cars. To conclude, lowering speed of automobiles can prove to be an effective strategy to enhancing road security, yet it is not the most efficient strategy. In my opinion, building new roads and encouraging the use of public transport are ultimately superior methods.