The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent

People have different views with regard to the question of how to make our roads safer. It is argued that harsher punishments should be imposed to ensure traffic safety. I completely concur with this view, but to consider this as the sole solution, from my point of view, it does not seem perfectly reasonable as there are a large number of other effective approaches that could also be taken to deal with this issue. There are several reasons why rule-breakers should be given stricter punishments, for example tightening the execution of punishment by increasing the fine amount for rule violations. It is said that the increasing number of road accidents is due to the lenient fine, thus, more money as fine would somehow deter reckless drivers, who often exceed the speed limit or use mobile phones while driving, from driving too quickly. Moreover, receiving severe sanctions when violating the law while driving, such as licence suspension or even prison sentence for some who cause severe accidents, would promote driving habits. Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believe that many more other measures could be taken to improve the safety of our roads. It is true that rule violation is the chief culprit to cause accidents, however, poor weather or geographical conditions also have a negative impact on road safety. To tackle these issues, government should invest more in road reconstruction or provide extensive warning signs on high-risk routes. Additionally, public transport should also be improved, which would mean citizens no longer need to travel by their personal cars. In conclusion, It seems to me that severe punishments would be a viable measure, however, there are several other approaches to be taken to improve the safety of the road.