People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people speep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

In many parts of the world, people now get considerably limited number of hours to sleep as compared to the past. This trend is mainly because of increasing stress and effects of digital age, which has serious repercussions on individuals as well as society. To begin with, the competitive and hectic lifestyle of the modern era requires people to ne more attentive than ever before. Nowadays, individuals are in a constant race of being successful and fulfilling their basic needs as a result they get less amount of sleep which is considered as a virtue these days. For instance, most of the high profile personalities with great achievements take pride in cutting down of their rest hours and consider that as a key to success. . Furthermore, the digitalization has sorrounded us with a lot of screens such as television, computers, laptops, iPads and mobile phones, the light from which when continously falls on the eyes makes the brain more awake and prevents it from falling asleep. Unfortunately, this phenomenon has a drastic affect on individuals and society. By having less sleeping hours, people will lose their ability to relax and energize their body as well as mind, which will lead to psychiatric issues like anxiety and depression. Moreover, reduced resting time also results in health conditions including increased blood pressure, obesity etc. in addition, it effects the mental concentration which hinders their productivity, all of these eventually result in weak society. To cite an example, if drivers have few hours of sleep than their actual body requirement and start working they will be dangerous not only to themselves but also to other members of the society. In conclusion, use of more computerised devices and persistent run after acquiring success instead of good sleep are the major factors for sleep deprivation. This results in negatively affecting individuals psychological and physical well-being which makes the society fragile with less output.