Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is by reducing the maximum speed limits on vehicles, others think there are other better ways. * *

It is a belief held by many that minimizing speed limit on automobiles is the perfect mean to enhance road security, while others opine that there are other preferred ways. In my opinion, compelling road users to comply with road safety rules will play a vital role in ensuring the road is secured for use. To begin with, the practice of minimizing the vehicle's speed limits will be beneficial in improving road security. Most automobile users fail to comply with the speed limit provided by the road safety regulatory body, due to this, the highways have been rendered unsafe as it has recorded a reoccurring rise in road traffic accidents that sometimes lead to permanent deformation or the death of those involved. For instance, it was reported by Times magazine that the majority of road traffic accidents occur because of the high speed with which vehicle drivers navigate. On the contrary, there are other ways that will be beneficial in improving highway safety. Firstly, road users should be taught to utilize road traffic light. They should be well informed on when to stop, wait or move. In addition, automobile users must also ensure their vehicles are good enough for road use. This can be achieved by a regular check on the components of the vehicles. To exemplify, the head of road safety unit in Nigeria gave a talk on the importance of obeying traffic light directives and also on the need to use the perfectly functional vehicle. He further spoke about how vital they are in enhancing road security. In conclusion, a proper road safety practice will help save life and property. From my point of view, road users should be made to comply with all the laid down road safety rules at all time, as this will play a positive role in saving lives and properties and also improve road security.