Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is by reducing the maximum speed limits on vehicles, others think there are other better ways.

It is thought by some that the most effective way to improve safety on roads is to reduce the maximum speed limit on automobile, others however, are of the opinion that there are other favourable ways to achieve this. In my opinion, I consider that good roads and proper illumination on major streets are ways to improve safety. On the one hand, some people have suggested that a reduction in the maximum speed limit on vehicles can ensure safety on roads. This is because over speeding is one of the factors that causes accident on roads. Most drivers are reckless when steering either because they are in a hurry to get to there destination or due to the influence of alcohol. As a result, accident are always difficult to be avoided when a vehicle is on high speed. For example, it was reported in punch newspaper that 41% of injuries resulting from accident in Nigeria are caused by reckless driving. Hence, this clearly shows why it is suggested that speed limit should be reduced. On the other hand, certain persons argue that there are more effective ways to achieve road safety and I agree. Firstly, roads should be repaired and free from pot holes. This can be achieved by ensuring any depression on the road surface caused by either traffic or erosion repaired immediately. The result of this will prevent damage to vehicles, thus improving safety. Furthermore, there should be adequate light on major streets and highway. This will ensure that car users see properly especially at night, thereby decreasing accidents. To illustrate, a recent research conducted in Abuja revealed that good roads and proper lighting on major streets reduced accident by 67%. Hence, it is believed that these alternatives measure are better ways to promote road safety. To conclude, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe that good roads and proper lighting are more effective ways to ensure safety of lives and property.