Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is by reducing the maximum speed limits on vehicle, others think there are other better ways.

Although it is thought by some people that placing a speed limit on cars will improve safety on the road, others however, opine that there are other good methods that can be used to achieve road safety. In my opinion, I consider that having a regulated limits on automobiles is the best way to ensure safety. On the one hand, some people have suggested that ensuring that vehicles has a stipulated speed limit will reduce road accident and I agree. This is because, most accident cases are usually as a result of over speeding, hence a limited speed range on all vehicles will lead to a tremendous decrease on the number of road mishap. Consequently, cars will move at a regulated pace and unexpected death and injuries that could occur due high speed would reduce. For instance, a survey carried out by federal road safety corps, reveals that following the reduction of maximum speed limit on all automobiles in 2017, there has been an enormous decline in the number of reported accident cases by 80%. On the other hand, another school of thought recommend that installing traffic lights and improving road structures are better ways to ascertain safety. In other words, construction of bridges, roundabouts, traffic lights and fixing of damaged roads will help maintain movement of vehicles and thus, improve road security. In addition, proper education by the authorities on the importance of adhering to traffic rules and the dangers associated with disobeying such rules should be taught to all road users. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe that regulating the maximum speed limit, plays a more crucial role in enhancing road safety.