In many countries today, the eating habits and lifestyle of children are different from those of previous generations. Some people say this had a negative effect on their health. with this opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that the diet and lifestyle of young people has changed dramatically compared with the previous eras and has led to the rise of health problems in the youth. I completely agree with this notion for the following reasons. First and foremost, with the rise in popularity of fast food and ready made meals, many children as well as parents prefer them over home cooked meals. Children are attracted by advertisements put out by restaurants deliberately targeted at them. For example, a 'happy meal' is an item offered by a leading fast food chain which comes with a toy and hence kids force their parents to buy it for them. In addition, with both parents working full time to support the family, they do no find enough time to prepare food at home and simply purchase ready made meals from outside. The food available from restaurants is often high in sodium and fat which has resulted in the rise of obesity in children. Drinks like soda and deserts like chocolate and candies have also significantly contributed in causing various health problems in children including tooth decay and cavities. Secondly, with the introduction of video games and social networking websites, adolescents are spending more time behind their computer screens instead of going out and playing with their friends. Childhood obesity and diabetes has increased because of the sedentary lifestyles that young people lead today. Outdoor activities like basketball, swimming and running have decreased in popularity and have been replaced by browsing the internet and watching movies. In conclusion, the poor eating habits and lack of physical activity has resulted in the rise of serious health problems in the young people and there is a dire need to find a solution to this trend.