Some people think that the advantages of advertising sports products through famous sports players outweigh the disadvantages.

It is generally accepted that despite the drawbacks of advertising sport merchandises with the help of well known athletes, this phenomenon has a beneficial impact both on the society and the sports players. In my opinion, the pro’s of promoting sports-related items in such a manner do overweigh the con’s for many reasons discussed below. To begin with, the abovementioned way of advertisement campaigns stimulate the sales of sports goods in various ways. Firstly, a sports star will more likely raise awareness on sports goods, compared to an average individual. It is highly probable that a familiar athlete will draw people’s attention and will therefore upsurge the chances of the product to be sold. Secondly, it is worth mentioning that many children and teenagers get inspired by success stories of famous athletes and wish to follow their examples. This, with no doubt, leads to an increase in the sales of the promoted product. Besides the aforementioned effects, this type of marketing strategy has a beneficial impact on the athletes, too. In other words, not only the target auditorium of the player gets to know the offered product, but also those, who didn’t previously know the celebrity will start getting interested in finding out, who the person is. For example, such famous soccer players as David Beckham and Pele are nowadays popular among non-soccer fans due to the marketing events they participated in. To conclude, I believe that the involvement of a known sportsperson in advertisement of a sports item is a positive event, which both the selling companies and the ad person themselves can benefit from.