16. Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, sports competitions have become so popular around the world for the entertainment purpose. Meanwhile, commercial advertisement companies spend a huge amount of salary to invite famous sports celebrities to promote sport products via advertisements. Some people believe that this will benefit communities and their fans. However, I personally disagree with this view and the essay will discuss about my view. To begin with,   it is the fact that sports celebrities have become their fans' role models worldwide. Their fans always pay an attention to the clothes they wear, gadgets they used, cars they drive, and so on. Then their fans will copy what they do in their daily life.  People tend to spend their money on the items which might not benefit them or waste their money. They purchased them only because their idols advertise the products.   For example, some soft drinking companies have the long history to use sport celebrities to promote their products annually. Many Chinese teenagers drink too many soft drinks daily which will do harm to their health. Without the advertises, teenagers might not be fond of consuming soft drinks. In addition, the fee to invite sports celebrities for participating in advertises are extremely huge. In order to make the same amount of profits, retail prices of products will increase. Therefore, it will add more financial burden to the customers as well. For example, the prices for some popular brands of detergents are higher than that of an ordinary brand because the former one spent much money on their advertisements. Therefore, inviting sports celebrities to promote products will lead to higher retail prices and will add burdens to consumers. In summary, sports celebrities play in advertises for profit which also contributes high retail prices and increases consumers' burdens. Therefore, I did not believe it is beneficial to have sport celebrities for commercial product advertisements.