Some people think that teenagers should follow what the old people say whereas some believe that it is good for teenage people to challenge what old people say.

Today, there are people who believe that the most beneficial for teenagers is to listen to advices of elderly people and to learn from their rich life experiences. However, there are also those who oppose this point of view and think that the youth will benefit more for challenging these advices and making their own choices. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before reaching conclusion. On one hand, it is undeniable that old people have a great knowledge of life and that the youth can learn a lot from them. After all, they were once young and they have lived through all life phases that teenagers are yet to discover. However, following the steps given from them, youngsters risk repeating the same mistakes as they once made. Moreover, old people are prone to acting like they know everything and are less likely to admit that they have made a wrong move in their youth for which they paid great cost. On the other hand, life would be monotonous if people did not oppose to their parents and grandparents and made their own decisions. Furthermore, young people who decided to explore life independently, contributed greatly to modern lifestyle that we know today. For instance, if they decided to live their grandparent’s lives all over again, we would not have the Internet, smartphones, electro-vehicles and other technological wonders. To conclude, even though elderly people are capable of giving advices to teenagers based on their personal experience, listening to them would likely stop teenagers from advancing as they will continuously go back and re-living lives of the ones they listened to. Therefore, in my opinion, teenagers will have greater benefit of challenging old people's life lessons and exploring the life on their own.