Some people think that teenagers should follow what the old people say whereas some believe that it is good for teenage people to challenge what old people say.

Whether or not, youngsters should tread along the beaten path followed by their previous generations is a debatable topic. Conservatives believe that adolescents should stick to the advice of their elders while progressives think that they should question the age old notions. In this essay I will shed some light on both sides of this debate Some people take the adage ‘old is gold’ quite literally. They believe that those of a mature age possess the knowledge and wisdom that has been tried and tested. For instance, when I used to have a toothache as a young boy, my grandmother used to give me cloves to chew on. It used to work wonders and I would get better without having to visit the doctor. In fact, over the years, medical science has come to accept a lot of traditional ways of treating diseases that have been passed on from one generation to the next. Thus it is reasonable to see why youngsters should follow the advice of their elders in some areas. On the other hand, there are valid reasons for challenging the views of older people. Firstly, we live in a fast paced world where science and technology are progressing at a breakneck speed. The society in which an octogenarian was brought up is vastly different from the one that a teenager lives in today. Thus, the opinions that an elder may have about a specific issue, may have been formed based on a completely different set of assumptions. For instance, many old people in India are superstitious, and believe in using astrology to take important decisions such as choosing a life partner. It is obvious that if a young couple are in love and wish to marry, they should question their elders who may be against their personal decision based on old dogmas. In conclusion, I believe that both views have their own merits. Old people have a treasure trove of knowledge that relates to our very basic human instincts and nature. This would serve young people well. However, the fast changing nature of the world means that some old traditions and beliefs might be obsolete and hence should be questioned by the youngsters.