Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. with this statement?

With the advent of technology, the ways we can communicate with others has certainly become a lot faster as compared to posting handwritten letters. Some believe that with the plethora of communication services available, writing letters is becoming obsolete. I strongly disagree with this notion as many still believe that writing letters by hand gives it a personal touch and also the authenticity is maintained in case of official letters. Firstly, we talk to at least one person on phone call on any given day. It has become a part of our schedule and nothing feels special about it. To exemplify, it was one of my friend’s birthday last month and I decided to write him a letter to wish him. He would have gotten tons of messages and dozens of calls that day but I thought my letter would stand out of the norm of wishing via phone and it did! He wrote me a letter back telling me how much he cherished the letter. Hence, writing letters shows care and affection in comparison with sending a text message or a phone call. Secondly, modern communications still are not reliable. There are thousands of hackers who have committed fraud by sending spam mails impersonating an authoritative body. Not everyone is aware of the security risks of latest technologies and hackers take advantage of this. For example, in my country it is mandatory for a company to send a new recruit an offer letter by post whereas by e-mail is optional. This is required by the company so that the person receiving the letter will be assured about the authenticity which would make it impossible for someone else to attempt a fraud or just pull a prank. Therefore for official communications, letters still play a big role as it ensures trust. In summary, letters written by hand are still being used to show care for the loved ones for personal communication and it also shows trust in case of official purpose. Hence, writing letters are far from being obsolete and is still a necessity.