Some people think that teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. Others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject they are best at or they are more interested in.

While it is thought that adolescents ought to focus on a broad range of school subjects, others feel it would be better for them to concentrate only on chosen subjects. In my opinion, I believe the number of subjects they study should depend on their age. One reason adolescent from around the age of 13 to 17 ought to focus on learning as many different subjects as possible is that they are too immature to make decisions that will affect their future. By studying various subjects, they will develop a clear understanding of their skills and interests, which often change as a child ages. Secondly, teenagers need to vary what they learn to help them develop into well rounded adults. For example, they need sports to encourage health, they need math to be able to perform simple arithmetic in life, and they need language to help them learn communication. At a young age they are not mature enough to be responsible for their own development. However, by the age of 18, adolescents know not only what subjects they most enjoy or excel at, but also which subjects are most useful for their future prospects in life. For this reason, the majority of university applicants are 18 years old, and they are eager to engage more deeply in specific subject matter. Furthermore, their ability to concentrate on one specific subject and study in depth is fully established at that age, unlike when they were younger. To conclude, younger teenagers are not ready to specialize and require a broad framework of subjects to help them develop, but at the age of 18, this is no longer the case.