Some people think that the teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. Others believe that teenagers should focus on subject they are best at or they are most interested in.

Although, it is thought by some that teenagers ought to focus on all school subjects, others think that they should concentrate only on chosen subjects. In my opinion, the subject that teenage students should study depend on their age. On the one hand, younger children from 13 to 16 years should focus on as many subjects as possible. This is simply because at a younger age they need basic knowledge from a variety of subjects. For example, children need basic Maths to solve arithmetic in daily life, Sports to encourage health and Science to know basic fundamental laws of nature. Young students, moreover, are immature to realize their own interest, and hence, cannot select any particular subject. As they study most subjects, they can make out their interest and the subject they are good at, which often changes with time. By studying many different subjects, pupils at a young age will set their foot towards overall holistic development and as a result, they will become well-rounded individuals. On the other hand, pupils aged 17 and above must be permitted to confine to specific subjects of their choice as opposed to their younger counterparts. This is down to the fact that by the age of 17, students are capable enough to decide on their carrier and devoting attention to many different subjects would simply mean a waste of time. In this way, focusing on select subjects will help them save time, which therefore can be utilized in research and in-depth study of that particular subject. In this way, older adolescents can specialise in their field of choice which creates employment opportunities in that stream. This is a clear reason why adolescents above 16 years must be allowed to study interest-driven subjects, without imposing unnecessary varieties over them. To conclude, while younger adolescent should study different subjects, older school students are required to direct their attention to interest-based subjects only, in order to ensure appropriate growth at different age.