Some people think that teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the teenagers and society as a whole.

In recent decades, doing volunteer work in spare time has been receiving a lot of teenagers around the world. Although many people think that doing unpaid work is a waste of time, I concur that this would benefit both young people and community. There are a number of reasons why volunteering in free time will help teenagers themsemselves. Firstly, unpaid work allow teens to broaden their own knowledge about different fields and their communities through real experiences. For example, if they participate in a teaching project for poor kids in another country, this can help them to improve their english skills and have new foreign friends, those are hard to get when they just study and work in Vietnam. Secondly, volunteer work inhances their resume when young people seek a job in the future. In fact, candidates are both good at studying in school and social work can get a priority when applying for a job. It is obvious that, volunteer workers can create valuable community services, solving needs of people. Volunteer work such as supporting the poor with food and clothes can help poor people in the short term. In addition, young people can impact on the environment to help the community has a better life. For instance, planting trees and stop using plastic bags will help not only to make the surroundings clean but reduce the polution also to a great extent. In conclusion, doing unpaid work can “kill two birds with one stone” because it has great advantages both for sociaty and for individuals. Parents, as well as teacher should encourage the teens to take part in activities of serving the community in ther free time.