Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that online shopping has become more and more popular these years because of the advancement of technology. While it might have some negative impact on both the individuals and society as a whole, I believe that the benefits of shopping on the Internet far outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, shopping on the Internet can be highly addictive. People may easily develop a habit of shopping when they have leisure time because buying things in online stores is simple and easy, and it can be done anytime and everywhere. For example, a person can now open web pages through a smartphone, and buy various products which they need in just few seconds while commuting from workplace to home. As a result, people tend to shop on impulse in this way of shopping. On the other hand, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits. There are two major benefits of online shopping. Firstly, compared to traditional shopping, online shopping is cheaper, more time-saving. Many online stores offer a variety of products, and prices are usually lower than brick and mortar stores. Therefore, people can buy various products with better prices on the same web page, without buying them from different stores in person. Also, online shopping creates an opportunity for people to buy products from other countries. For example, a student living in Taiwan can order textbooks from the US. The process of multinational online shopping can simply be done by cellphones, tablets and computers. In conclusion, while online shopping can be addictive, I believe that this way of shopping brings more benefits than drawbacks.